Bach Magnificat Text

BWV 243 – “Magnificat”

1. Chor
Magnificat anima mea Dominum.
1. Chorus
My soul magnifies the Lord.
2. Arie S II
Et exultavit spiritus meus in Deo salutari meo.
2. Aria S II
And my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.
3. Arie S I
Quia respexit humilitatem ancillae suae.
Ecce enim ex hoc beatam me dicent
3. Aria S I
For He has regarded the lowliness of His handmaiden.
Behold, from henceforth, I will be called blessed
4. Chor
omnes generationes.
4. Chorus
by all generations.
5. Arie B
Quia fecit mihi magna,
qui potens est, et sanctum nomen eius.
5. Aria B
For the Mighty One has done
great things for me, and holy is His name.
6. Arie (Duett) A T
Et misericordia a progenie in progenies,
timentibus eum.
6. Aria (Duet) A T
His mercy is for those who fear Him
from generation to generation.
7. Chor
Fecit potentiam in bracchio suo,
dispersit superbos mente cordis sui.
7. Chor
He has shown strength with His arm,
He has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.
8. Arie T
Deposuit potentes de sede et exaltavit humiles.
8. Aria T
He has brought down the powerful from their thrones and lifted up the lowly.
9. Arie A
Esurientes implevit bonis,
et divites dimisit inanes.
9. Aria A
He has filled the hungry with good things,
and sent the rich away empty.
10. Terzett SI, SII, A
Suscepit Israel puerum suum
recordatus misericordie suae.
10. Trio SI, SII, A
He has helped His servant Israel
in remembrance of His mercy.
11. Chor
Sicut locutus est ad patres nostros,
Abraham et semini eius in saecula.
11. Chorus
According to the promise He made to our ancestors,
to Abraham and to His descendants forever..
12. Chor
Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto,
sicut erat in principio
et nunc et in saecula saeculorum,
12. Chorus
Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
as it was in the beginning,
is now, and for ever and ever,
Luke 1:46-55